MyDriverLicenses.org is a third party website that is not affiliated with any government agencies. The services we provide are available for free in the official sites or local offices. You can purchase and download our guide and resources for $22.95, which contains vital information in order to perform any DMV service and receive a free $25 gas rebate and other added benefits. By continuing to use our website, you accept our Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy.

Replace License

Losing your UT drivers license can be quite stressful. And because your Utah drivers license has your name, address and signature all on one ID, the first thing that might come to mind is the possibility of identity theft. Additionally, if you find yourself in this situation, it is also important to remember that you can no longer drive legally within the state. The Department of Public Safety Driver License Division requires Utah motorists to have a valid license to drive in order to operate motor vehicles. Therefore, if your drivers license is lost, stolen, damaged or destroyed, it is crucial that you take the necessary steps to obtain an official duplicate drivers license in Utah.

Report a Stolen Drivers License

In the event that you have lost your driver license and have reason to believe it was stolen from you, or if you know that it was stolen, then the best course of action for you to pursue is reporting this theft to your local law enforcement agency. There is only so much that you can do to get your drivers license back on your own, especially when you have a job and a family to take care of. Thus, you should leave this job to the professionals. By reporting your lost or stolen drivers license to the police department nearby, you are doing all that you can to protect your identity from falling into the wrong hands. And in the meantime, while you wait for law enforcement to do what they are charged to do, you can apply for a Utah drivers license replacement from the DPS.

Replace a Drivers License in Person

The state of Utah requires that you replace drivers license documentation when your credentials are lost, stolen, damaged or destroyed. There is no getting around this condition. However, the state does not require you to file a police report. Additionally, unlike drivers license renewal, where you may go in person or apply online, there is only one way to apply for a drivers license copy in Utah.

Replacing your damaged, stolen or lost drivers license requires you to pay a visit to your local Department of Public Safety office in person to apply for drivers license replacement. You cannot apply by mail or online.

The first thing that you should do when you go to get a duplicate drivers license is to download and complete a drivers license application. If you do not have online access, you will also have the option of filling out the form in person at your local DPS office. In addition to the form, you will also have to gather various important documents to bring with you to the DPS. Included in these necessary materials are:

In addition, if your name or address has changed, and you would like this change to be reflected in your new drivers license, you must provide the additional documentation. A name change would require a marriage certificate, divorce degree or other court document.

After you provide all of the necessary information, you will be able to take your photo, pass a vision test and pay the $18 fee associated with getting a duplicate drivers license in UT. Just keep in mind that you will not be able to replace drivers license documents while you are out of the state. You must make all drivers license replacements at your local DPS office.