In the state of Tennessee, without a driver license, you are not legally allowed to drive on public roadways and highways. However, if you do lose this driving document or it is stolen from you, then you must apply to get a drivers license replacement in TN. Replacing drivers licenses is also required when motorists' driver licenses are damaged or destroyed.
Note: If your lost drivers license was already within 12 months of its expiration date, you will need to visit the DOS office and apply for a drivers license renewal.
Report a Stolen Drivers License
What you must first do if your license to drive is stolen from you is report the issue to the local law enforcement agency. This is necessary because your identity might be in jeopardy. To file a police report, simply visit a local police office and speak to an officer.
Replace a Drivers License in Person
In order to replace drivers license documents in person in the state of Tennessee, you will have to visit your local DOS office and provide a representative with both a primary and secondary proof of ID. Common examples of these documents include everything from birth certificates, passports, and military IDs to Social Security cards, health insurance cards, school records and more. If you are changing your name, you will have to provide your name change document as well, which can be a marriage certificate, a divorce decree or a court order.
After you have submitted all of the necessary documentation, the next step of the process for replacing drivers license documents is to have your photo taken. Once the photo is taken, you will be asked to pay the fee for a TN drivers license replacement. In the state of Tennessee, the first duplicate drivers license costs $8. For a second drivers license copy, the fee increases to $12.
Replace a Drivers License Online
If you want to obtain a TN drivers license replacement by applying online, you are welcome to do so. However, you will have to meet the eligibility requirements of the state. These requirements are as follows:
- Your drivers license cannot be suspended.
- Your drivers license cannot be revoked.
- Your drivers license cannot be cancelled.
In addition, your TN driver license must have a digitalized photo and signature. If you meet the prerequisites, you must then provide your driving license number, your TN address, the last four digits of your Social Security Number, and a credit card or debit card for payment. As mentioned above, the fee for a first duplicate drivers license is $8. The fee for a second drivers license replacement is slightly higher at $12.