Drivers in NC should replace lost or stolen drivers licenses as soon as possible, so that they don't have to deal with any of the avoidable issues or penalties associated. Drivers licenses in North Carolina are used as your photo ID in various different instances. In addition, these driving licenses also allow you to operate vehicles in the state of NC. Therefore, if you choose to drive without one in your possession, you are breaking the law. Fortunately, whether your driver license was stolen or simply lost, the process to apply for a North Carolina drivers license replacement is simple.
There are two options to consider when in your positon. You can either choose to apply for a drivers license copy in person, or you can order a duplicate drivers license online.
Report a Stolen Drivers License
In the event you are dealing with a stolen drivers license in North Carolina, consider reporting the theft to the local authorities. In most counties, all it takes is a quick trip to your local police station and filling out some paperwork in order to protect your driving document from identity thieves.
Replace a Drivers License in Person
For motorists that decide that it's best to replace drivers licenses in person, it is crucial to determine eligibility beforehand. First of all, your NC drivers license must have been stolen, damaged or lost. In addition, your driving license must be valid and not expired. Also, the NC DMV won't replace suspended, revoked or cancelled driver licenses, and applying drivers cannot have any outstanding fees either.
If you meet all of the above qualifications, you can go visit your local North Carolina DMV and bring with you the original North Carolina drivers license (if damaged), two documents that prove your age and identity, proof of your name change (if applicable), and payment for the fee. Since you will be obtaining a new drivers license in NC, the fee is $10. After providing all of the necessary documents and payments, you'll be able to get your temporary driving certificate.
Currently, the state of North Carolina only issues permanent driving licenses at the central office in Raleigh, which is why DMV representatives issue temporary certificates in person. This doesn't mean that your drivers license application will be any different. It just means that it will take you longer to receive your driving documents. These temporary driving certificates are valid for a period of 20 days, which is just long enough for you to receive your NC drivers license in the mail.
Replace a Drivers License Online
As mentioned earlier, you can also look into the option of applying for a drivers license replacement online. However, you should first make sure that you are eligible to do so. In order to apply online, you must have a valid NC driver license; your license to drive must have been issued after January 2000; the driving document cannot have been suspended, revoked or canceled; and you cannot owe any fees to the DMV. Additionally, the DMV has to have your image on file along with your Social Security Number, your taxpayer number, and a document that proves your legal presence.
When applying for a North Carolina duplicate drivers license online, you must also have your current drivers license number, a VISA, MasterCard or American Express credit card, and a valid email address. If you have all of the aforementioned documents, then you can visit the Duplicate Driver License section of the North Carolina DMV website and begin to fill out the necessary information.