In order to operate a vehicle in the state of New Mexico, you must have your drivers license on you. You simply cannot drive legally without it. If you are stopped by a police officer and you do not have a license to drive, you will earn points on your driving record, and there are even some cases where your license could be revoked. In any case, whether the license has been lost, badly damaged or stolen, obtaining a drivers license replacement is a very simple undertaking. All a motor vehicle driver must do is decide how he or she would like to go through with the process.
Report a Stolen Drivers License
The first thing a New Mexico driver has to remember when it comes to protecting his or her drivers license is to avoid identity theft. The last thing you want is for your identity to be at risk. And, one great way to avoid this issue is to look into the enhanced drivers license offered by New Mexico. It comes with a variety of security features to keep your identity secure. In addition, Social Security Numbers do not even appear on the enhanced NM drivers license.
However, if your New Mexico driver license is stolen, or you have reason to believe that it was taken from you, report the offense to a local law enforcement agency. Simply visit a local police department office and speak to an officer, so you can go on record with the incident.
Replace a Drivers License in Person
To replace drivers license documents in person, motorists must go to a local MVD office and fill out an application. They will also need to bring:
- Proof of ID.
- Proof of Social Security number.
- Two documents that prove NM residency.
- Payment for the license:
- $18 for four-year license
- $34 for eight-year license
- Free of charge if you are 75 or older
Once you finish the drivers license replacement application process, a temporary duplicate drivers license will be mailed to you.
Replace a Drivers License Online
When it comes to replacing drivers license documents online at the Online Driver License/ID Renewal, there are certain eligibility requirements you must meet. First of all, a driver must have renewed his or her NM driver license in person the last time it was due for renewal. Additionally, you cannot apply for a new drivers license number if you choose to renew online, as this option will not be available. If you meet the requirements put forth by the state of New Mexico's Motor Vehicle Division, then you will be asked to provide the following materials:
- Your Social Security Number
- The number on your driving license
- A major debit card or credit card
- American Express
The fee for a New Mexico drivers license replacement depends on the type of license you request. If you want to get a drivers license copy that will last four years, for instance, then you must pay $18. However, if you would rather have a NM drivers license that lasts eight years, you must pay $34. And in the event that you are 75 years of age or older, then the replacement license is free of charge. Either way, you will be able to print out a temporary NM drivers license while you wait for your permanent document to arrive by mail.