Drivers who have a lost driving license or a stolen driving license are required to apply for a replacement at their earliest convenience. However, before visiting your nearby DMV branch, it is important to file a police report with the proper authorities first.
Report a Stolen Drivers License
If you recently lost your driving license or had it stolen, make sure to report it to local law enforcement as soon as possible. By notifying the police, you will reduce the chances of being held liable for tickets or violations that may result in the misuse of your drivers license.
Replace a Drivers License in Person
Although many drivers may prefer to replace licenses in person, some are required to do so. If any of the following applies to you, you will need to visit your local NV DMV office to complete the drivers license replacement process:
- You have a new residential address.
- You have a commercial driving license.
- Your driving license expires within 60 days.
Replace a Drivers License Online
In order to replace driving licenses online, you must first be deemed eligible to do so. You may utilize the online service if:
- You do not have a suspended license.
- You do not have a revoked license.
- You have not changed your address.
- Your drivers license is not set to expire within 60 days.
- You do not have a commercial driving license.
To begin the duplicate drivers license process, simply visit MyDMV and follow the instructions on the screen. Make sure to have a credit card, debit card or electronic check available for payment.
Replace a Drivers License by Mail
The mail-in option is only available to Nevada residents who are currently out of state. To make your request, fill out the Application for Nevada Driver's License by Mail, and then mail it to the address on the form. On the application itself, you will be required to enter information pertaining to your out-of-state mailing address (which is where you would like your license to be sent to), as well as your current NV residential address. Make sure to also include your drivers license number and sign the application.
Depending on the type of license you are requesting a duplicate drivers license for, and whether or not there are any offenses on your driving record, you will receive a drivers license replacement without a photograph in the mail. Upon your return to Nevada, you will have 24 days to surrender exchange this license for a proper Nevada drivers license with your picture on it.
Replace a Drivers License at a Kiosk
Several Nevada DMV kiosks are available throughout the state. To find one in your area, visit the NV DMV Self-Service Kiosks page. When you order a replacement through a DMV kiosk, the photo you have on file will be used, and a new license will be mailed to the address you have on file. Bear in mind that there is an extra $1 processing fee to use a kiosk.