In the event that you have a lost drivers license or a stolen drivers license, the Nebraska DMV will require you to order a replacement at your earliest convenience. Thankfully, the state offers an in-person option to complete this process, as well as an online method.
Report a Stolen Drivers License
Before making your way to a local DMV office to request a duplicate driving license, contact your regional law enforcement authorities to report your lost or stolen driving license. By filing a police report on the incident, you will reduce your chances of identity theft and fraud. Once you have taken the necessary precautions, make sure to present a copy of this police report to an authorized DMV agent at the time of your driving license replacement.
Replace a Drivers License in Person
When it comes to replacing a lost, stolen or damaged driver license in Nebraska, residents must follow a number of steps at their local DMV office. First, if you are currently a resident of the state, you will have to provide proof of your identity, which includes your full name and date of birth.
Additionally, you must bring two proofs of Nebraska residency to verify that you currently live in the state. Acceptable documents may include a utility bill (electric, water, cable, Internet, etc.) and an official bank statement. Note that no photocopies are accepted.
After completing your duplicate request, you can expect to receive your new Nebraska driving license in the mail within 14 business days. However, in the event that you have not received your license in a sufficient amount of time, contact the Driver Licensing Services office at 402-471-3861.
Replace a Drivers License Online
If you would prefer to make your drivers license copy request online, you can do so by visiting the Click DMV Online Services page. However, take note that you must meet a certain number of eligibility requirements in order to utilize this service, such as the following:
- You have not changed your name or address since your last license issuance.
- You hold a valid credit card to pay applicable fees.
Keep in mind that you will be charged an extra fee of $2.50 to complete this online transaction. As it applies to credit cards, only a MasterCard, Visa or Discover are accepted. Allow 20 business days for your duplicate license to arrive in the mail.
Replace a Drivers License Out of State
If you are college student or resident who is temporarily living out of the state, then you will need to complete an Out-of-State License Renewal, Duplicates and Replacements form. Send this form to the following address with a notarized signature, payment for the $13.50 fee, and proof of ID in order to get your NE driving license replacement: Department of Motor Vehicles, P.O. Box 94789, Lincoln, NE 68509.
Make sure to include your current residential address, your mailing address, your full name, your date of birth, your signature and details about your physical appearance in order for the form to be processed without delay.