Replacing your driver's license in Louisiana is vital in the event it is lost or stolen. The Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles makes it mandatory to apply for a duplicate drivers license in person, so you will need to gather all the appropriate documentation prior to your visit.
Report a Stolen Drivers License
If you are in a situation where your LA drivers license has been stolen, be sure to notify your local law enforcement. By reporting the loss, your driver's license number will be entered into the police system, and your identity is protected from fraud. Additionally, by informing the police of the theft, you will be removed from any liability for the actions of others using your license.
Replace a Drivers License in Person
When visiting a nearby LA DMV office, a motorist must bring proof of vehicle insurance, and the photo that is on file will be used for identity purposes. If you do not have a photo on file with the DMV, then you will need to bring additional documentation:
- One primary form of identification:
- Original U.S. birth certificate
- U.S. passport
- One secondary form identification
- Social Security card
- School photo ID
- Health insurance card
At that time, your drivers license replacement picture will be taken. The fee for a replacement license in LA is $13, unless you are older than 60, where it is then free.
Replace a License When You Are Out-Of-State or in the Military
The Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles aims to provide motorists with the best care possible, and thereby has created an efficient method for Louisianans to replace drivers license when out-of-state or in the military. Once your application is received, you will receive a new LA license within 10 business days. For this option to be viable, you must retain a permanent LA residential address. The LA DMV will not send correspondence to P.O. boxes.
If a vehicle driver has an address on file, then he or she may request a duplicate license by mail. First, print, complete and sign Temporarily Residing Out of State Application for Reconstructed Duplicate. Within the application be sure to check the box corresponding to your duplicate request. You will also need to provide your Louisiana driver's license number. Without your number, your application can still be processed, however, it will require more amount of time to have a new one issued to you.
To finalize your duplicate driving license request, include a money order or cashier's check made payable to Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles. Mail the packet to:
Office of Motor Vehicles
Attention: Reconstructed License
P.O. Box 64886
Baton Rouge, LA 70896
The LA DMV urges all residents to order a replacement at their earliest convenience, and tries to make the process as efficient as possible by going in person.
Instances When You Cannot Replace Your Drivers License
If any of the following applies to you, you will be considered ineligible to apply for a driving license replacement:
- If your license is within 90 days of expiring. In that case, you must simply renew your drivers license and follow that specific set of requirements
- If your license is suspended, revoked or cancelled, you will only be issued a new license after the according period and fees have been met
- If your driving record reflects delinquent fees or missed court dates, you will need to pay the appropriate fees to get a new LA license