Incurring a drivers license suspension in Virginia can be a major inconvenience in a number of ways. But most importantly, it takes away your driving privileges. When you consider how often you have to drive to get to work, school, or what have you, you begin to realize that driving is an invaluable benefit. Thus, it is crucial for you to know exactly how to avoid getting a suspended drivers license and how to reinstate your driver license if it is even suspended or revoked. You can learn all about these important items in the sections below.
Common Reasons for Drivers License Suspension
The VA Department of Motor Vehicles is the group in charge of suspending drivers licenses in Virginia. The most common reasons for drivers license suspension are as follows:
- Driving under the influence
- Driving while intoxicated
- Falsifying information with the VA DMV
- Committing a felony that involves a vehicle
- Violating insurance regulations
- Not paying child support
- Not paying court fines
- Accumulating too many points on your driving record
Regardless of your reason is for getting a suspended drivers license, all you can do is wait out your sentence and complete any other requirements that were issued by the court. In any case, it is important that you do not confuse a suspended drivers license in VA for a revoked or canceled driver license. These three situations are all different, and come with different punishments. You can expect the DMV to notify you of any impending suspension of your driving privileges, and there are certain violations that come with automatic bans, including:
- Driving under the influence.
- Not stopping at an accident you were involved in.
- Not completing a necessary driver improvement program.
- Reckless driving.
Furthermore, now that you know how you can lose your drivers license in Virginia, it is time for you to learn how to get it reinstated.
How to Reinstate a Suspended Drivers License in Person
Reinstating suspended drivers license documents at a local DMV office is not a difficult process to go through. However, it does require you to be prepared. For instance, you must be able to provide proof of payment for your court fines, proof of SR-22 insurance and proof of your completed driving improvement program/alcohol safety program.
Only after showing the aforementioned documents will you be able to pay for your suspended drivers license reinstatement fees. These fees will vary based on the incident. For example, if you failed to pay a court fine, violated an insurance law or had a railroad crossing violations, your fee will be $145. This fee jumps up to $175 if you failed to complete your driving improvement program, if you drove with a suspended drivers license or if you committed a felony that involves a vehicle. Finally, the state of VA charges $220 in fees if you commit vehicular manslaughter, if you are convicted of alcohol use while driving a commercial vehicle or if you are caught driving under the influence.
Regardless, you will still have to go down to your local VA DMV office and provide proof of your ID, address and legal presence in the country. You may also have to pass the knowledge and driving skills exams. Once you have done so, you will receive a clearance letter from the DMV saying that your Virginia drivers license has been reinstated.
Note: While you must go in person to show proof of ID, legal presence and address, suspended drivers license reinstatement fees can also be paid online on the VA DMV website, by phone by calling 804-497-7100, or by mail if you send payment to the following address:
Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles
P.O. Box 27412
Richmond, VA 23269