In Utah and across the United States, motor vehicle operators can have their drivers licenses suspended for a variety of reasons. To make sure that you avoid such a penalty, read about the most common causes for drivers license suspension below. And, if you have already incurred this punishment from the Department of Public Safety in Utah, you can learn all about the Utah suspended drivers license reinstatement process at the bottom.
Common Reasons for Drivers License Suspension
The most common reasons for a revoked or suspended drivers license in Utah include:
- An accumulation of points.
- Failure to pay a ticket.
- Failure to pay child support.
- Failure to attend a scheduled court date.
- A DUI.
- Refusal of a chemical test.
- A texting violation.
- Driving with a suspended drivers license.
The degree of your punishment will vary based on your reason for incurring the drivers license suspension.
Drivers License Point System
The DPS point system is a great place to start understanding how to be a safe driver in Utah. The UT Point System doles out points based on the severity of traffic violations and, if there was an accident, the type of damage the infraction created. If more than 200 points are accumulated in a three-year period, your license to drive will be suspended and your privileges removed. Young Utah drivers face even stricter rules, with their maximum limit at 70 points.
The point system follows as such:
- Reckless driving: 80 points
- Speeding (will vary on severity): 37 to 75 points
- Failure to yield right-of-way: 60 points
- Tailgating: 60 points
- Driving on the wrong side of the road: 60 points
- Driving the wrong way into a one-way street: 60 points
- Driving through a red light: 50 points
- Driving through a stop sign: 50 points
- Improper lookout: 50 points
- Improper passing : 50 points
- Negligent collision: 50 points
- Miscellaneous moving violations: 40 points
Fortunately, these points can be taken off your driving record with good behavior and thus help you avoid drivers license suspension. For example:
- Drive one year without being cited for a moving traffic violation and see half the points on your record removed.
- Drive two years without being cited for a moving traffic violation and see all the points on your record removed.
- Enroll, complete and pass an approved defensive driving course and get 50 points removed from your driving record.
- Note: This can be done once every three years.
Offenses of Driving Under the Influence
In any state in the US, driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs is considered a major infraction. At no point in time will a driver experience leniency. Therefore, as a driver of Utah, you must consider the Drunk Driving Law. You will be charged with a DUI if found driving a motor vehicle:
- With a BAC of .08 percent or higher.
- Dangerously because of the influence of alcohol and/or drugs, regardless of concentration.
The penalties for being found driving under the influence in UT for the first time are:
- Minimum two days in jail.
- Minimum 48 hours of community service.
- Minimum $700 in penalty fines and fees.
- Minimum 90 days of UT drivers license suspension.
The first or second DUI offenses will be classified as Class A or Class B misdemeanors. But after these first offenses, the penalties and fees of DUIs will become more severe.
How to Reinstate a Suspended Drivers License in Person
In order to get your driving license reinstated if it is suspended or revoked, you must allow for the term of punishment to pass. Additionally, you will also have to complete the following steps:
- Pass a defensive driving course, if applicable.
- Show proof of car insurance.
- Apply for a new drivers license in Utah (with required testing).
- Pay the suspended drivers license reinstatement fees at a local DPS office in person, which are as follows:
- Standard reinstatement: $30
- Alcohol/drug reinstatement: $65
- Administrative fee for alcohol/drug reinstatement: $170
- Administrative fee for confiscation reinstatement: $30