Obtain Your Road Advisors Guide

Welcome to MyDriverLicenses.org. Find all of the information you need to perform any drivers license process all in one place. It does not matter whether you are applying to obtain your first license to drive or if you are updating or renewing a long-held driving license. The information provided on our website will help you to complete any driver's license-related transaction, from changing the name or address on your license to reinstating your suspended credential. The all-encompassing Road Guide and value-added forms and checklists have all the details you need to complete your vital driver license procedures in the quickest way possible. Just fill out our simple digital form below to get started.

Reinstate Suspended License Guide for South Carolina

online assistance services

How to reinstate a suspended license in South Carolina

There are several reasons why your drivers license may be suspended or revoked. In South Carolina your drivers license can be suspended for violating traffic laws, failure to pay required fees associated with traffic tickets or driving under the influence. Depending on your particular situation for a suspended license in South Carolina, you may be required to go to court and/or take a drivers education course in order to reinstate your license. If your drivers suspension is related to moving violations, you may need to enroll in traffic school. On the other hand, if you were found guilty of DUI in South Carolina, you may be required to attend an alcohol and drug awareness course. Each license suspension situation comes with its own protocol. It's important that you learn how to handle the terms your driving suspension, from paying fines to license revocation. Once your drivers license suspension period in South Carolina has ended, you can then proceed with driver license reinstatement.

Without your driver license you are very limited to your capabilities of daily life which can greatly affect your lifestyle. The Road Advisors Guide will guide you through the entire process requiring little to no effort from your part.

suspended license

Suspended License

Do you need to reinstate your suspended South Carolina drivers license? We've collected all the information you need to expedite and simplify the process. Before you reinstate your suspended license by mail or by visiting a local {DMV-C} office, you can easily find the answers you're looking for within our Road Advisors Guide. Click "Get Started" below to get comprehensive application assistance for all the {DMV-C}'s services.

MyDriverLicenses.org is a third party website that is not affiliated with any government agencies. The services we provide are available for free in the official sites or local offices. You can purchase and download our guide and resources for $22.95, which contains vital information in order to perform any DMV service and receive a free $25 gas rebate and other added benefits. By continuing to use our website, you accept our Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy.

Suspended License

If you do not abide by the rules of the road in South Carolina, you can easily get your driving license privileges suspended. Your length of drivers license suspension will depend on the offense, conviction or violation you have committed. It can range anywhere from three months to over a couple of years. Furthermore, drivers can incur suspended drivers licenses for a variety of reasons and their reinstatement processes can vary greatly.

Common Reasons for Drivers License Suspension

As mentioned before, there are a number of reasons why a driver could end up with a drivers license suspension in South Carolina. Some of the most common instances include:

  • Driving under the influence.
  • Accumulating too many points on your record.
  • Not paying a traffic citation.
  • Not paying child support.
  • Breaking auto insurance laws.
  • Driving with a suspended drivers license.

Depending on your reason for incurring an SC drivers license suspension, your penalties will vary. Review the punishments that go along with suspended drivers licenses in South Carolina below.

Alcohol and Drug Safety Program

If you have been convicted of driving under the influence, you will need to complete the Alcohol and Drug Safety Action Program, as it is one of the necessary steps for suspended driver license reinstatement. To contact them directly, you can call 803-896-5555, or fax 803-896-5557.

If you would prefer to make an in-person visit, their office is located at:

2414 Bull Street
Columbia, SC 29201

If you prefer to correspond by mail, send a letter to:

P.O. Box 8268
Columbia, SC 29202

Ignition Interlock Devices

For those motor vehicle drivers who have been convicted twice of driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs two or more times, you will be required to install ignition interlock devices in their cars. These devices make sure that you are driving clean and sober when you get behind the wheel. Just like a Breathalyzer, they detect whether or not you are under the influence of alcohol or drugs. If such a detection is made, the device will prevent you from starting the car.

If you are required to install an ignition interlock device in your car and you refuse to do so, you will immediately incur a three-year drivers license suspension.

How to Reinstate a Suspended Drivers License Online

In order to reinstate suspended drivers license credentials, you will have to follow these steps:

  • Acquire SR22 insurance, which must be maintained for three years (if applicable).
  • Pay court fines (if applicable).
  • Complete an Alcohol and Drug Safety Action Program (if applicable).
  • Get an ignition interlock device installed on your vehicle (if applicable).
  • Pay the $100 South Carolina suspended drivers license reinstatement fee.

This fee can be paid online when you provide your driver license number, Social Security Number and birth date. Then, you must mail in notice of your payment to:

The South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles
Driver Records
P.O. Box 1498
Blythewood, SC 29016

For more information on suspended drivers license reinstatement, contact the SC DMV by any of the following means:

By phone: 803-896-5000

By email: help@SCDMV.online

By mail: The South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles, Driver Records, Post Office Box 1498, Blythewood, SC 29016-0028

Check Your Driving Record

Prior to completing the steps you need to take in order to get your drivers license reinstated, you should take a look at your driving record. The record will include information such as the number of driving points you have, any required reinstatement guidelines you need to fulfill, and the current status of your drivers license suspension.

To get started, visit the South Carolina Driver Record Points and Status webpage. Once here, you will be asked to identify yourself by entering the following information: your Social Security Number, your date of birth and your SC drivers license number.

Provisional Driver License

There are a slew of factors that can result in a drivers license suspension; however, the South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles allows certain individuals to obtain a provisional drivers license in order to get to/from work and/or school.

For example, if you have never been convicted of any previous offense, and you were found to be driving under the influence for the first time, you may be able to apply for a provisional driver license in South Carolina if the following qualifications apply to you:

  • You have a valid South Carolina drivers license, or have had one in the past.
  • There are no other drivers license suspensions on your record.
  • You must have taken part in an alcohol and drug safety program.
  • You must have provided a certificate of SR22 insurance with the DMV.
  • You must be willing to pay the $100 provisional driving license fee (unless otherwise noted).

After you complete your SC suspended drivers license period, you will be required to obtain an SR22 insurance certificate. If you have a provisional drivers license, you will be required to hold SR22 for a period of six months during that time. As mentioned earlier, you must also verify that an SR22 insurance certificate is on file with the SC Department of Motor Vehicles in order for them to issue you a reinstated driver license.