In Ohio, there are serious penalties and consequences for violating the rules of the road or failing to operate as a responsible driver. Your Ohio driver license can be suspended for reasons ranging from driving under the influence to excessive speeding, to failure to pay child support.
Common Reasons for Drivers License Suspension
There are several ways that a driver can incur a drivers license suspension in Ohio. Some of the most common violations that result in this punishment include:
- Accumulating 12 points or more on your record within two years.
- Being convicted of in-state, drug-related offenses.
- Juvenile suspension, due to being charged with possession or use of drugs, alcohol or tobacco.
- Driving under the influence, whether it is drugs or alcohol.
- Property damage that exceeds $400 and/or a personal injury claim.
- Being convicted of carrying or being in the possession of a weapon on school property.
- Being convicted of out-of-state alcohol or drug-related offenses.
- Court suspension due to a traffic violation.
Additionally, if you are unaware of the type of suspended drivers license you have, there are codes assigned to each penalty, including:
- P1: Probationary Suspension - OVUAC
- P2: Probationary Suspension - Two Violations
- P3: Probationary Suspension - Three Violations
- SD: School Dropout
- S1: 12-Point Suspension
- SC: Court Suspension
- JS: Juvenile Suspension
- C4: Ohio Drug Offense
- UA: Underage Alcohol Consumption Suspension
- SW: School Weapons Suspension
- MR: Moped Suspension
- MN: Court Suspension - Minor Offenses
- RF: Administrative Revocation
Regardless of your reason for incurring a drivers license suspension, once the penalty period is over, you will be able to reinstate your driving privilege with the BMV. This process can be completed in person, online, by mail or by phone.
How to Reinstate a Suspended Drivers License in Person
The process to reinstate your drivers license depends on the offense that was committed and the suspension that followed. Suspended drivers license reinstatement requirements vary greatly from one driver to the next. However, there are some important factors you should keep in mind.
The typical process for reinstating suspended drivers license documents is as follows:
- Wait out the suspension period.
- Complete driver/alcohol training (if applicable).
- Pay off all citations and fees in person at a local BMV office.
As for license reinstatement fees, the amounts will also depend on the type of OH drivers license suspension incurred. For a full list of reinstatement fees, visit the Drivers License Suspension and Reinstatement page. If you are unable to make a payment, the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles allows motorists in need to sign up for a Driver License Reinstatement Fee Installment Plan. However, this plan is only available to those drivers who have met all other reinstatement requirements, minus fee payment.
If you owe $150 or more in fees, you may be eligible to retest for your Ohio drivers license by only submitting a payment of $50 (or more if you are financially able to do so) every 30 days. This monthly payment plan will remain in place until all of your suspended drivers license reinstatement fees have been paid off.
How to Reinstate a Suspended Drivers License Online
The state of Ohio now provides a new feature that allows you to complete payment for your suspended drivers license reinstatement fees online. Simply visit the Ohio License/ID Verification page and input key personal details that will help identify yourself and thus allow you to access your BMV record, including:
- Your Ohio driver license number
- Your date of birth
- The first letter of your last name
- The last four digits of your Social Security Number
- If you do not have a Social Security Number, simply type "0000" in the indicated box.
How to Reinstate a Suspended Drivers License by Mail
To reinstate suspended drivers license documentation by mail, simply send the necessary documents and a check or money order payable to the "Ohio State Treasurer" to:
Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles
Attn: RE Fee
P.O. Box 16520
Columbus OH 43216-6520
How to Reinstate a Suspended Drivers License by Phone
If you are having difficulty making your payment online, call the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles' automated system instead. This convenient phone-in feature makes it easy for you to pay by electronic check only. The Ohio BMV currently does not accept payment by credit or debit cards. Once you have concluded your phone call, your payment for suspended drivers license reinstatement will be processed in up to seven business days.
To take advantage of the automated telephone system, dial 1-866-OPLATES (675-2837).