There are numerous reasons why a vehicle driver may have a suspended driving license. However, by adhering to the rules of the road and state laws, you can avoid an unwanted suspension. If your Minnesota drivers license is currently suspended, the Driver and Vehicle Services office will send you a letter explaining the reason for the suspension.
Common Reasons for Drivers License Suspension
Some of the reasons why a car owner may be faced with a driving license suspension include these listed below:
- You have not paid a fine.
- You don't hold proof of insurance.
- You don't have car insurance.
- You misused your MN driver's license.
- You are a habitual violator.
- You have committed a violation that resulted in fatality or personal injury.
- You have committed a criminal vehicular homicide, injury or manslaughter.
- You have fled an officer.
- You have not paid child support.
If you have an unpaid fine on your record, your MN driver's license might be suspended as well. You will not be allowed to drive in Minnesota until you pay the court the appropriate fee. If you have a fine, pay it to the court, and thereafter, the court will update all your records with the DVS office.
Suspension periods may vary depending on the offense committed. For example, an automobile driver that is an habitual offender may face:
- A 30-day suspension if the commissioner has previously sent a violation warning letter to the person who has committed:
- Four traffic offenses within a 12-month period.
- Five traffic offenses within a 24-month period.
- A 90 days suspension if the person is convicted of:
- Five traffic offenses within a 12-month period.
- Six traffic offenses within a 24-month period.
- A 180 days suspension if the person is convicted of seven traffic offenses within a 24-month period.
- A one year suspension if the person is convicted of eight or more traffic offenses within a 24-month period.
To find more information regarding habitual violators, visit the Minnesota Administrative Rules page.
How to Reinstate a Suspended Drivers License in Person
When a state driver is eligible to reinstate his or her Minnesota license, the MN Driver and Vehicle Services office will send a letter with proper reinstatement instructions. Requirements may be different depending on the violations or offenses committed.
If you need your driver's license to go to work or any other pressing matter, the DVS may provide you limited driving privileges. When your license is suspended, the DVS will let you know if you are eligible for this restriction.
If your license has been suspended due to proof of insurance, you may present one of these documents as proof:
- Insurance card
- Copy of your insurance policy
- A letter from your insurance company
- Computer printout from insurer
- Facsimile of the proof of insurance
- Electronic proof of insurance that is not otherwise available to the department
- Electronic mail sent from the applicant's insurer
Some suspension cases may be eligible for assistance by paying fines associated with your driving record. The DVS has a program titled the Driver Diversion Pilot Program (DDP), which allows drivers to pay outstanding citations and fulfill the necessary requirements to reinstate their license.
To find out if you are eligible to participate in DDP, contact Diversion Solutions by:
- Phone: 1-866-518-2597
Driving Diversion Program
P.O. Box 19
Red Wing, MN 55066
You may be eligible to participate in DDP if:
- You are approved by the Driver and Vehicle Services (DVS) office.
- You are eligible for a payment plan for fines and fees.
- You participate in training.
- You acquire and maintain insurance.
- You must not have any major violations while in the program.