As it pertains to a suspended driving license or a revoked driving license, reinstating your driving privileges will depend on the severity of the incident, and whether or not you are a repeat offender.
Common Reasons for Drivers License Suspension
In MI, the Secretary of State takes its safety precautions seriously, therefore a driver must meet all the requirements that are currently in place in order to maintain a valid driving license. Keep in mind that in Michigan and other U.S. states, driving without a valid license is illegal.
The most common reasons for a suspended, revoked or cancelled license in Michigan are:
- Refusal of chemical test
- Failure to pay traffic citation
- Failure to pay child support
- Failure to attend schedule court date
Michigan Point System
The first step toward maintaining your driving privileges is understanding how the Michigan point system works. If you are assessed 12 points within two years, you will be required to submit to reexamination. If you do not pass the requirements, then your privileges will be suspended.
Points are issued for the following offenses:
- Driving 10 mph or less over the legal speed limit.
- Open alcohol container in vehicle.
- All other moving violations of traffic laws.
- Refusal of Preliminary Breath Test (PBT) by anyone under age 21.
- Careless driving.
- Disobeying a traffic signal or stop sign or improper passing.
- Driving 11 through 15 mph over the legal speed limit.
- Failure to stop at railroad crossing.
- Failure to stop for a school bus or for disobeying a school crossing guard.
- Drag racing.
- Operating while visibly impaired.
- Under age 21 with any bodily alcohol content.
- Driving 16 mph or more over the legal speed limit.
- Failure to yield/show due caution for emergency vehicles.
- Manslaughter, negligent homicide, or other felony involving use of a motor vehicle.
- Operating under the influence of liquor or drugs.
- Failing to stop and give identification at the scene of a crash.
- Reckless driving.
- Unlawful bodily alcohol content of 0.08 or more.
- Refusal to take a chemical test.
- Fleeing or eluding a police officer.
In Michigan, residents 21 years of age older with a .08 percent blood alcohol content (BAC) will be charged with a ticket for Operating While Intoxicated (OWI). Commercial drivers have less leeway, and will be given an OWI for .04 percent. Drivers younger than 21 years have zero leeway in Michigan — meaning that the state has a zero tolerance policy for underage drinking and driving.
If you refuse to take a chemical test, your license will be suspended for these time periods:
- First offense: One-year suspension
- Second offense: Two-year suspension
- Third offense: Five-year suspension
The penalties for a DUI or OWI conviction are as follows:
- First offense: Up to 93 days in jail; fines between $100 and $500; license suspension up to six months; could require an Ignition Interlock Device (IID).
- Second offense: As little as five days to maximum one year in jail; fines between $200 and $1,000; minimum one-year license suspension; an IID will be required for your vehicle.
- Third offense: A minimum of thirty days to a maximum of one year in jail; fines between $200 and $1,000; minimum one-year license suspension; an IID will be required for your vehicle.
How to Reinstate a Drivers License in Person
The reinstatement requirements a vehicle driver must adhere to depends on the type of offense was committed. For example, with a DUI or OWI offense, a motorist is required to show proof of SR-22, pay the necessary fees, allow the suspension period to pass, and take an improvement education course. You will receive a packet from the SOS detailing the extent of your license suspension, and what will need to be done for reinstatement. In order to find out about the specifics of your case, review your suspension notice and contact the Michigan SOS for further information.