When driving on public roadways and highways, a motorist must abide by road rules and regulations of the state he or she is traveling through. In Maryland, this is no exception. Failure to do so will result in a drivers license suspension.
Common Reasons for Drivers License Suspension
In Maryland, a suspended, revoked or cancelled driver's license can severely impair a motorist's quality of life. The most common reasons for having restricted driving privileges include:
- Failure to pay a traffic citation
- Failure to pay child support
- Failure to attend scheduled court date
- Acquiring too many points
- Refusal of chemical test
How to Reinstate a Suspended Drivers License in Person
To reinstate a suspended license in Maryland, a vehicle driver must first wait out the period of time of his or her suspension period. In order to reinstate suspended drivers licenses, you must pay the reinstatement fees and adhere to other requirements. For example, a driver who has a suspended license due to a DUI will be required to enroll in a driver improvement course.
The reinstatement fees may vary, depending on the type of offense you have committed. Visit your local Motor Vehicle Administration for further information about your reinstatement process.
How the Maryland Point System Works
If you are caught driving on Maryland roadways after breaking a road rule or traffic law, you will be given a ticket by an officer. The officer will submit your ticket to the Maryland District Court. If your ticket is not dismissed and you admit guilty to the charge, the District Court will then send notification to the Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration.
Whenever points are assessed to your driver record, the MVA will send you notification by mail:
- Three to four points: MVA will mail a warning letter.
- Five to seven points: MVA will send you notification requiring you to enroll in a Driver Improvement Program.
- Eight to eleven points: MVA will send you notice of suspension of your driving privileges.
- Twelve or more points: The MVA will send you a notice of revocation.
Between eight and 11 points, your license will be suspended, not revoked. This applies for points that are not alcohol- or drug-related.
Revoked Driver's License
In Maryland, if too many points accumulate on your driver record within a certain period of time, then you will have a revoked drivers license. This also applies for driving under the influence offenses.
The standard amount of time that must pass before a driver is considered eligible to reinstate his or her driving license is as follows:
- First revocation: Six months
- Second revocations: 12 months
- Three revocations: 18 months
- Four or more revocations: 24 months
Once your suspension period has passed, you may begin taking the proper steps to have your drivers license reinstated. Contact the Motor Vehicle Administration Customer Service Center for answers to related queries. You can reach them at 410-768-7000.