A driver with a suspended driving license in the state of Maine is not allowed to operate a motor vehicle on public roadways or highways until his or her license is reinstated. In order to avoid this unwanted situation, it is important to adhere to the rules of the road and follow state laws.
Common Reasons for Drivers License Suspension
There are several reasons why a state driver's license may be suspended by the Maine Bureau of Motor Vehicles. Being caught driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs is one reason that will result in a drivers license suspension. Another reason the ME Bureau of Motor Vehicles suspends licenses is when the driver in question is caught driving erratically or recklessly. Other common reasons that may result in a suspended driving license include:
- Accumulating too many points on your driving record.
- Refusing to submit to a blood alcohol concentration test.
- Violating the state's insurance laws.
- Failing to pay child support.
- Failing to pay traffic and ticket violations.
As it pertains to driving license suspensions, the time in which a motorist is not legally authorized to operate a motor vehicle depends on the type of offense that has been committed. Many offenses include court penalties and fines that must be satisfied before a driving license can be reinstated. If your driving license is suspended, the Maine of Bureau of Motor Vehicles will send out a suspension notice in the mail, with information about your suspension period, as well as the proper instructions and rules a driver must adhere to for reinstatement.
The duration of the suspended drivers license typically varies based on the severity of the offense. Alcohol-related instances, for example, are cause for 150 days to eight years of suspension. Street racing and evading a police officer, on the other hand, will result in a 90 day-suspension. Then, there is a 60-day suspension for driving with a suspended license, and 30-day suspensions for hit-and-runs, speeding, and falsifying information.
How to Reinstate a Suspended Drivers License in Person
Once the period of your suspension has concluded, a motorist must take the necessary actions in order to reinstate his or her license. Some of the requirements you will need to adhere to include fulfilling any court requirements (if applicable), as well as submit an SR-22 or proof of insurance to the Maine Bureau of Motor Vehicles. If your drivers license was suspended due to driving under the influence, you will also need to complete an alcohol education course. In order to reinstate suspended drivers licenses, you must be ready to pay any necessary fees.
If you are unsure about reinstatement fees, these are charges that vary depending on the reason why a drivers license was originally suspended. For alcohol-related suspensions, for instance, the cost is $100. However, if your license was suspended for any other reasons, the cost for reinstating your license is reduced to $50.