Obtain Your Road Advisors Guide

Welcome to MyDriverLicenses.org. Find all of the information you need to perform any drivers license process all in one place. It does not matter whether you are applying to obtain your first license to drive or if you are updating or renewing a long-held driving license. The information provided on our website will help you to complete any driver's license-related transaction, from changing the name or address on your license to reinstating your suspended credential. The all-encompassing Road Guide and value-added forms and checklists have all the details you need to complete your vital driver license procedures in the quickest way possible. Just fill out our simple digital form below to get started.

Reinstate Suspended License Guide for Louisiana

online assistance services

How to reinstate a suspended license in Louisiana

There are several reasons why your drivers license may be suspended or revoked. In Louisiana your drivers license can be suspended for violating traffic laws, failure to pay required fees associated with traffic tickets or driving under the influence. Depending on your particular situation for a suspended license in Louisiana, you may be required to go to court and/or take a drivers education course in order to reinstate your license. If your drivers suspension is related to moving violations, you may need to enroll in traffic school. On the other hand, if you were found guilty of DUI in Louisiana, you may be required to attend an alcohol and drug awareness course. Each license suspension situation comes with its own protocol. It's important that you learn how to handle the terms your driving suspension, from paying fines to license revocation. Once your drivers license suspension period in Louisiana has ended, you can then proceed with driver license reinstatement.

Without your driver license you are very limited to your capabilities of daily life which can greatly affect your lifestyle. The Road Advisors Guide will guide you through the entire process requiring little to no effort from your part.

suspended license

Suspended License

Do you need to reinstate your suspended Louisiana drivers license? We've collected all the information you need to expedite and simplify the process. Before you reinstate your suspended license by mail or by visiting a local {DMV-C} office, you can easily find the answers you're looking for within our Road Advisors Guide. Click "Get Started" below to get comprehensive application assistance for all the {DMV-C}'s services.

MyDriverLicenses.org is a third party website that is not affiliated with any government agencies. The services we provide are available for free in the official sites or local offices. You can purchase and download our guide and resources for $22.95, which contains vital information in order to perform any DMV service and receive a free $25 gas rebate and other added benefits. By continuing to use our website, you accept our Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy.

Suspended License

Responsible drivers in the state of Louisiana are expected to adhere to the rules of the road. Failure to do so may result in a drivers license suspension, as well as additional penalties and consequences.

Common Reasons for Drivers License Suspension

A suspended drivers license can be due to violations, offenses and convictions that may include the following:

  • Driving under the influence, whether it be drugs or alcohol
  • Refusing to take a blood or breath test
  • Reckless driving
  • Failure to pay child support
  • Failure to pay traffic infractions
  • Vehicle negligent injury convictions

How to Reinstate a Suspended Drivers License in Person

The steps in which you will be required to follow in order to reinstate your driver's license vary on the type of suspension you have. Generally speaking though, you will be required to do the following:

  • Bring any suspension compliance documents with you to the OMV.
  • Make sure you have fulfilled any directions and requirements as outlined by the court.
  • Submit SR-22 from your car insurance (if applicable)
  • Submit payment for any reinstatement fees in person.

The best way to get all the answers to any reinstatement-related questions you may have is to visit your local OMV reinstatement office. Or, if you would prefer to speak to a customer service agent over the phone, you can do so by calling 225-925-6146.

Reinstatement Fees

In order to be properly informed of the exact amount you are required to pay for reinstatement of your driver's license, you need to get in touch with an OMV branch. Depending on how you choose to submit your payment, there are different forms of payment the Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicle will accept.

  • By phone: Any major credit/debit card, such as Visa or MasterCard.
  • By mail: Certified check, cashier's check or money order which must be paid out to the Louisiana OMV.
  • In person: Certified check, cashier's check, money order or cash.

Note: A personal check is one form of payment that the Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles will not accept. If a driver has a pending court case, he or she will need to satisfy any court fees before applying suspended drivers license reinstatement.

Request for an Administrative Hearing

Depending on the type of license suspension that was issued, a motorist may be able to request a Louisiana OMV administrative hearing. This must be done within a month's time of receiving the notice, or after an arrest.

In some cases, the OMV may see fit to allow you to drive with a temporary driver's license until the hearing date arrives. To make it a seamless process for you, your request for an administrative hearing can be made by visiting a nearby Louisiana OMV office. When visiting in person, you will have your license reinstatement processed right away.

However, you also have the option of sending a written request to the address below:

Office of Motor Vehicles
P.O. Box 64886
Baton Rouge, LA 70896

Any request made by mail may take up to 10 business days to process.

Hardship License

The state of Louisiana offers residents who have a driver license suspension the option of obtaining a temporary hardship license. However, it is important to keep in mind that not every state driver will be eligible to receive this license. In order to find out if you qualify, you will need to visit your local OMV reinstatement office, or call 225-925-6146.

A temporary hardship license can only be used for these scenarios:

  • Drive to/from place of employment
  • Drive to/from school/college
  • Drive to/from other approved places