Obtain Your Road Advisors Guide

Welcome to MyDriverLicenses.org. Find all of the information you need to perform any drivers license process all in one place. It does not matter whether you are applying to obtain your first license to drive or if you are updating or renewing a long-held driving license. The information provided on our website will help you to complete any driver's license-related transaction, from changing the name or address on your license to reinstating your suspended credential. The all-encompassing Road Guide and value-added forms and checklists have all the details you need to complete your vital driver license procedures in the quickest way possible. Just fill out our simple digital form below to get started.

Reinstate Suspended License Guide for Illinois

online assistance services

How to reinstate a suspended license in Illinois

There are several reasons why your drivers license may be suspended or revoked. In Illinois your drivers license can be suspended for violating traffic laws, failure to pay required fees associated with traffic tickets or driving under the influence. Depending on your particular situation for a suspended license in Illinois, you may be required to go to court and/or take a drivers education course in order to reinstate your license. If your drivers suspension is related to moving violations, you may need to enroll in traffic school. On the other hand, if you were found guilty of DUI in Illinois, you may be required to attend an alcohol and drug awareness course. Each license suspension situation comes with its own protocol. It's important that you learn how to handle the terms your driving suspension, from paying fines to license revocation. Once your drivers license suspension period in Illinois has ended, you can then proceed with driver license reinstatement.

Without your driver license you are very limited to your capabilities of daily life which can greatly affect your lifestyle. The Road Advisors Guide will guide you through the entire process requiring little to no effort from your part.

suspended license

Suspended License

Do you need to reinstate your suspended Illinois drivers license? We've collected all the information you need to expedite and simplify the process. Before you reinstate your suspended license by mail or by visiting a local {DMV-C} office, you can easily find the answers you're looking for within our Road Advisors Guide. Click "Get Started" below to get comprehensive application assistance for all the {DMV-C}'s services.

MyDriverLicenses.org is a third party website that is not affiliated with any government agencies. The services we provide are available for free in the official sites or local offices. You can purchase and download our guide and resources for $22.95, which contains vital information in order to perform any DMV service and receive a free $25 gas rebate and other added benefits. By continuing to use our website, you accept our Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy.

Suspended Licenses

The state of Illinois issues driving licenses to safe and responsible vehicle drivers. Motorists that do not abide by the rules and regulations of the Secretary of State will be subject to facing a driving license suspension.

Common Reasons for Drivers License Suspension

The Secretary of State has the right to immediately issue a drivers license suspension or revocation if you are considered to be problematic and unsafe drivers. According to the IL SOS, a revocation is an "indefinite withdrawal of driving privileges" with a minimum of one year. There are various reasons why a motorist's driving privileges may be revoked, including but not limited to:

  • Driving under the influence of alcohol.
  • Leaving the scene of an accident.
  • Providing false information to the SOS.
  • Conviction of drag racing.
  • Reckless conduct or reckless driving.
  • Theft of a vehicle.

On the other hand, a suspended drivers license is a temporary hold on driving privileges. Some of the most common offenses that may result in a suspended license include:

  • Failure to stop for a school bus.
  • Failure to obey a railroad cross signal.
  • Failure to yield to an emergency vehicle.
  • Failure to pay child support.
  • Failure to maintain Illinois car insurance.
  • Allowing somebody to fraudulently use your drivers license.
  • Refusal to adhere to a chemical test.
  • Illegal transportation of alcohol.
  • Accumulation of points on your driving record.
  • Unpaid traffic tickets and violations.

A motorist that continues to drive with a suspended drivers license will have an extended suspension period, and be subject to additional penalties and consequences, as imposed by the IL SOS.

How to Reinstate a Suspended Drivers License in Person

The process to reinstate suspended drivers licenses will depend on the type of offense or violation that was committed. At the bare minimum, you will be required to first complete your suspension period and thereafter pay any reinstatement fees.

In order to obtain specific details about your revoked drivers license or suspended drivers license case, contact the Illinois Driver Licenses Services toll-free number at 1-888-261-5238. You may also find a SOS office in your neighborhood by accessing the SOS Facility Finder page and entering your ZIP code or city on the search bar.

How to Reinstate a Suspended Drivers License Online

In some instances, a driver may be allowed to submit payment for reinstatement fees online. The Illinois Secretary of State website accepts reinstatement fees for the following types of suspensions:

  • Traffic related suspension
  • Parking or tollway suspension
  • Uninsured accident court ordered suspension
  • Uninsured accident administrative suspension
  • Failure to appear in court suspension
  • Mandatory insurance conviction drivers license suspension

A standard $70 fee (may vary) will apply for the aforementioned suspended driving license offenses. When submitting payment online, take note that you must have a valid credit card in your possession. Only MasterCard, Visa, American Express or Discover are accepted. A $2.44 payment process fee will also apply during your transaction.