Obtain Your Road Advisors Guide

Welcome to MyDriverLicenses.org. Find all of the information you need to perform any drivers license process all in one place. It does not matter whether you are applying to obtain your first license to drive or if you are updating or renewing a long-held driving license. The information provided on our website will help you to complete any driver's license-related transaction, from changing the name or address on your license to reinstating your suspended credential. The all-encompassing Road Guide and value-added forms and checklists have all the details you need to complete your vital driver license procedures in the quickest way possible. Just fill out our simple digital form below to get started.

Reinstate Suspended License Guide for Georgia

online assistance services

How to reinstate a suspended license in Georgia

There are several reasons why your drivers license may be suspended or revoked. In Georgia your drivers license can be suspended for violating traffic laws, failure to pay required fees associated with traffic tickets or driving under the influence. Depending on your particular situation for a suspended license in Georgia, you may be required to go to court and/or take a drivers education course in order to reinstate your license. If your drivers suspension is related to moving violations, you may need to enroll in traffic school. On the other hand, if you were found guilty of DUI in Georgia, you may be required to attend an alcohol and drug awareness course. Each license suspension situation comes with its own protocol. It's important that you learn how to handle the terms your driving suspension, from paying fines to license revocation. Once your drivers license suspension period in Georgia has ended, you can then proceed with driver license reinstatement.

Without your driver license you are very limited to your capabilities of daily life which can greatly affect your lifestyle. The Road Advisors Guide will guide you through the entire process requiring little to no effort from your part.

suspended license

Suspended License

Do you need to reinstate your suspended Georgia drivers license? We've collected all the information you need to expedite and simplify the process. Before you reinstate your suspended license by mail or by visiting a local {DMV-C} office, you can easily find the answers you're looking for within our Road Advisors Guide. Click "Get Started" below to get comprehensive application assistance for all the {DMV-C}'s services.

MyDriverLicenses.org is a third party website that is not affiliated with any government agencies. The services we provide are available for free in the official sites or local offices. You can purchase and download our guide and resources for $22.95, which contains vital information in order to perform any DMV service and receive a free $25 gas rebate and other added benefits. By continuing to use our website, you accept our Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy.

Suspended License

The Georgia Department of Driver Services suspends licenses when drivers commit certain offenses. In order to have a suspended drivers license reinstated, you must abide by the rules and regulations imposed on you.

Common Reasons for Drivers License Suspension

There are a few reasons why a driver may have his or her GA drivers license suspended. These include major driving violations, driving without car insurance in the state of Georgia - as it is legally required - and accumulating too many points on your GA driver license.

There are also some offenses completely unrelated to driving that can get your license suspended, such as failure to pay child support. These are court-related suspensions of a drivers license. These driving license suspensions end at one point or another, though the point of end will vary based on circumstances.

Getting multiple speeding tickets and having points accumulate on a Georgia driver's license is very risky because suspension awaits with just one wrong move. In the event that you get 15 points or more on your license within the short period of 24 months, then you are sure to have your driving privileges suspended. However, this isn't so easy to gauge, because the number of points you will receive is based on the type of violation you commit.

How to Reinstate a Suspended Drivers License in Person

In the event that a driver is issued a suspended license, the Georgia DDS requires you complete a defensive driving test before getting approval for reinstatement.

In the state of Georgia, these defensive driving courses can remove up to seven points from a person's driving record. However, you are only eligible to get a point reduction once every five years. Once the course is complete, the suspended vehicle driver must mail his or her certificate to the following address in order to get points taken off:

Georgia Department of Driver Services
P.O. BOX 80447
Conyers, GA 30013.

In terms of the fees associated with suspended driving licenses in GA, they vary depending on the type of violation that is committed in the first place. They also vary depending on how a driver chooses to pay them. A first DUI offense for someone over the age of 21, for example, requires a payment of $210 in person. However, if you choose to send payment by mail, you only have to give $200. Failure to pay child support, which is a court-ordered suspension, requires you to pay $25 by mail and $35 in person. And these different reinstatement fees encompass many other different violations as well, including:

  • First offense failure to show proof of insurance ($200 by mail/$210 in person)
  • Second offense failure to show proof of insurance ($300 by mail/$310 in person)
  • First points violation ($200 by mail/$210 in person)
  • Second points violation ($300 by mail/$310 in person)
  • Third points violation ($400 by mail/$410 in person)
  • Failure to appear ($90 by mail/$100 in person)

Note: Georgia drivers license reinstatement fees can be paid by mail, online, or in person, whichever is most convenient.