Obtain Your Road Advisors Guide

Welcome to MyDriverLicenses.org. Find all of the information you need to perform any drivers license process all in one place. It does not matter whether you are applying to obtain your first license to drive or if you are updating or renewing a long-held driving license. The information provided on our website will help you to complete any driver's license-related transaction, from changing the name or address on your license to reinstating your suspended credential. The all-encompassing Road Guide and value-added forms and checklists have all the details you need to complete your vital driver license procedures in the quickest way possible. Just fill out our simple digital form below to get started.

Change Address on Driver License Guide for Louisiana

online assistance services

Changing your address in Louisiana

If you recently moved to the state of Louisiana, or relocated to a new address within Louisiana, you will need to file an address change. The first step in the change of address process is updating your address with the United States Postal Service. Once you have visited a post office in Louisiana to change your address, you can then proceed with changing the address on your Louisiana drivers license, which is the first step to ensuring all your credentials reflect your address change. If your current address does not match the address printed on your drivers license or ID card, you may face a fine or a penalty if you are pulled over in Louisiana. Schedule a {DMV-C} visit in order to update your contact information as soon as possible. To expedite the drivers license address change process, bring proof of your new address to the Louisiana {DMV-C}, along with your current ID. Once you have updated your {DMV-C} address change, contact your auto insurance provider, as your car insurance rate may need an adjustment.

The Road Advisors Guide has each and every single detail in order to help you change your drivers license address. Downloading the Road Advisors Guide is easy and simple. Click here to continue.

change your address

Change Address on License

Do you need to change your address on your Louisiana drivers license? We've collected all the information you need to expedite and simplify the process. Before you file an address change by mail or by visiting a local {DMV-C} office, you can easily find the answers you're looking for within our Road Advisors Guide. Click "Get Started" below to get comprehensive application assistance for all the {DMV-C}'s services.

MyDriverLicenses.org is a third party website that is not affiliated with any government agencies. The services we provide are available for free in the official sites or local offices. You can purchase and download our guide and resources for $22.95, which contains vital information in order to perform any DMV service and receive a free $25 gas rebate and other added benefits. By continuing to use our website, you accept our Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy.

Change Address on License

If you are a long-time Louisiana resident who has moved to another part of the state, you will need to inform various organizations of your new address - the Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles is no exception. Your driving license must reflect your current and updated information, including your residential address. If you recently completed address changing, the state gives automobile drivers a period of 10 days to notify the DMV of this update.

You'll need to update the information for every member of your family that has an LA drivers license or ID card as well. Plus, you must update the address on your vehicle's title and registration in a separate process.

How to Change Address on Drivers Licenses in Person

To change address on drivers licenses in Louisiana, you must visit your nearest OMV office. You will need to bring your current LA driver's license and proof of insurance. The cost is $13 when paying in cash, and an additional $1.25 charge, plus one percent, will be included when using a credit or debit card. An e-check incurs a one dollar fee, and each county parish has a tax to add which does not exceed $3.

The Louisiana OMV accepts the following forms of payments:

  • Cash
  • Check
  • E-check (extra fee)
  • Credit/debit cards(extra fee)

In order for your new address to be reflected on your license, you will need to request a duplicate driving license. If you do not have your driver's license on hand, you will be asked to present another proof of identity. If you do not have a photo on file with the DMV, then you will need to bring more documentation, such as:

  • One primary form of identification:
    • Original U.S. birth certificate
    • U.S. passport
  • One secondary form identification
    • Social Security card
    • School photo ID
    • Health insurance card

If Your License Is About to Expire

If you find that your license is set to expire within the next 90 days of moving, then you will also need to renew your license. If your photo is already in the OMV system, you still need to show other proof of identification. Bring with you:

  • One primary form of identification:
    • Original U.S. birth certificate
    • U.S. passport
  • One secondary form identification
    • Social Security card
    • School photo ID
    • Health insurance card

If you don't have or can't find a primary form of identification, then you are allowed to bring in three types of secondary ID, and:

  • Provide your Social Security number
  • Proof of vehicle insurance

Once the documents are approved, you will need to pass a vision test and pay the corresponding fees.